PDA

View Full Version : hello, i'm new and i want to learn welding :)

MrPotatoes
06-25-2007, 11:28 AM
hello, i'm new to all of this and i want to learn. i know there are different types for different jobs. there is MIG, TIG and Arc. i also think there is Gas welding but that is as far as my knowledge goes.

i wanted to get These DVD's (http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/NTESearch?storeId=6970&N=0&Ntk=All&Ntt=dvd&Nty=1&D=dvd&Ntx=mode+matchallpartial&Dx=mode+matchallpartial) to learn. i planned to get a Kit and gloves and a helmet. all cheap because i'd be learning.

anyone have any pointers that I could use? I would like to learn the type that I would need to know. Say I was to build some living room furniture or mayhaps I’d make some pretty metal jewelry or maypaps I’d make a brush bar or roll cage. What types would I need to know? What about learning a lot about automotive creations and fixes, What would I need to know for then?

Also, are these decent DVD’s? I don’t care if they are the best but as long as they teach something I can take it from there or find a forum and take it from there.

Thank you for your help

MicroZone
06-25-2007, 12:14 PM
The easiest way to learn is OJT. Find a local welder and ask if you can hang out a few days per week, help him for free, in trade for learning. I don't think they have TIG videos at Northern but I could be wrong. Either way, good luck and welcome to Weldingweb!

MrPotatoes
06-25-2007, 12:40 PM
i would do that but i'm a full time software engineer so 60 hours (work and driving *yikes*) if my time is taken up so i wouldn't be able to do that. nights and maybe weekends are the only times i can do this unfortunatly.

MicroZone
06-25-2007, 01:06 PM
Makes sense. If you're in the New England area, Zap holds a class once in a while on the weekends. He recently posted it, check it out. You will learn more in one day than several weeks of classes. Here is his post: