PDA

View Full Version : Hows good is my welder.

sbrider89
12-24-2007, 10:55 AM
Hey guys i am new to welding. i just got a Dan Mig 200 amp welder at a swap meet and was wondering if it was any good?

zapster
12-24-2007, 10:59 AM
If it works then you have a fine machine for yourself..:cool:

What did it cost?

...zap!

sbrider89
12-24-2007, 11:02 AM
400 dollars.. the only probly i see with it so far is the wire feeding mechinism gets caught up sometimes and stops my fun

zapster
12-24-2007, 11:07 AM
Usually its a dirty tip where the wire comes out is the problem with "birdnesting" the wire inside the machine..

Keep the tip clean..
You can file the end..

...zap!

sbrider89
12-24-2007, 11:10 AM
you are probably right. well im going to go have at it again. i also bought a hypertherm plasma cutter.

zapster
12-24-2007, 11:19 AM
Post some pics of the welds! :D

...zap!

ski_dwn_it
12-24-2007, 05:38 PM
Don't feel bad about the wire feed problem. I bought a brand new Miller 210 and it had the same problem after about 2 hours of use. Drove me nuts......

To expound upon what Zap was saying....Do what I did.

Pull the wire back out all the way.......then let it feed through without a tip in the gun.....if it feeds nearly the whle way and then hangs you probably have a piece of dirt inside. That was my problem....I played with it for a while, then disconnected the liner and took it in for a refund....they replaced it without a problem and I have not had a problem since.

If the wire feeds all the way to the tip and no problems, then pull it back and put the tip on and give it a try again....if it hangs in the tip then you can try the file trick or probably just replace it with a fresh one.

Good luck and as zap said....lets see some beads. :cool2:

David R
12-24-2007, 06:02 PM