PDA

View Full Version : how to hold your stinger

oxtail
05-28-2005, 04:36 PM
I am new to the trade, and want advice on how to hold my stinger, when welding in flat position, in the MIG process.

With MIG you PUSH as opposed to pull (ARC), correct?

If this is the case, (and you are right-handed) what are some of the techniques?

ie, left-hand on the bottom? Left-hand holding the right?

I am trying to find a comfortable stance, and still have control.
Any suggestions?

Sandy
05-28-2005, 05:23 PM
With MIG you PUSH as opposed to pull (ARC), correct?

Well without getting into the 'push/pull' debate I can say they both have their own characteristics, profiles, advantages and uses. After a while you will find both will suit a purpose. Many claim that drag is still the preferred method as it gives best penetration, and it does in a certain manner.

If this is the case, (and you are right-handed) what are some of the techniques?

If you are just trying to draw a bead on a flat piece, hold the gun as upright as possible in the one axis, ie. at a 90 to the longitudinal bead and at a slight angle to the direction of travel. Generally around 5 to 12 degrees towards the direction of travel in a pull and the same away from the direction of travel for a push.

ie, left-hand on the bottom? Left-hand holding the right?

I usually have the left under and supporting the right in most cases. I'm sure most are more steady than me which makes things easier. Do a little dry run to see if mobility is an issue and adjust how you are going to hold. Wear a heavy glove on the support hand and take caution as to the length of bead. Get too close for a long bead and you're gonna wrinkle a glove and be wanting out of it. You don't want to have a grip that is going to make you break off the bead prematurely.

I am trying to find a comfortable stance, and still have control.
Any suggestions?