PDA

View Full Version : I step forward, hand extended

Ayers Garage
10-11-2009, 09:49 PM
I suppose some introduction is in order.

My name is Kevin. I'm a full time fireman. On my days off, I work in my little shop, mostly doing powdercoating. I've got a pretty decent coating setup in my shop with three ovens and all that goes with that. I do it mainly for the old trucks I restore.

I've been welding for about 20 years now. I first started back in high school metal fab class. My school was poor, so all we had were cracker boxes and junk metal. I have real bad knees, 2 surgeries so far and another one needed right now. I'm afraid they are going to wind up cutting my career short. I've got 12 more years until I can retire. I've been slowly edging my efforts toward welding and fabricating. Due to my schedule at work, there's no chance in taking any formal schooling to further the welding. So, I practice a lot and read all the theory I can find to read. I've accrued about 9 months of time off so if the knees force my career change, at least I will have 9 months full pay to get something going.

I just got a 78 Chevy 1 ton dually cab/chassis flatbed truck to work out of. I'm rigging it out right now with my Miller Bobcat and torch rig on it. It will be good for rural odd jobs in my small town, fencing, gates, etc. My next project is to build a gin pole for the bed to help out with heavy lifting jobs.

In the shop, my main machine is a Millermatic 250. I also have a smaller Lincoln 110 MIG welder for thin work. I do a lot of work restoring old Chevy trucks (mainly 67-72) so it's very handy for patch panels and the like.

I have a little website that you can look at to see what kind of stuff I do. Not realy any welding projects on it right now, mainly powdercoating and truck restoration stuff.

http://kneeknockertruck.blogspot.com/

And, I love redhead women.

Regards,
Kevin

tnjind
10-11-2009, 10:00 PM
Welcome.
What powder gun/ power supply are you using?