PDA

View Full Version : Welding Career... Help, Questions and Advise Please.

Dirt
10-19-2005, 01:23 AM
Well I'm currently a sophomore in high school and I'm taking a basic welding class.

Next year though, I'll get a chance to goto E.V.I.T. (East Valley Institute of Technology) It's a high school deal for schools in Arizona. They offer classes on EVERYTHING but they've also got a really good ( or what I've been told ) welding class.

I'm reaching that point were i need to decide what I'm going to do in life and thats were i could use some of your help.

On average, whats the pay for a certified welder? non-certified? Is there good job security? These are just a few of the many questions Ive had lately.

Ive been told I'm really good with computers and i know i am but i find no fun in them.. they're always changing and everyone is going into them. I love sitting there watching the puddle of my weld move around. I think its an awesome feeling to be able to manipulate metal so easily and join pieces together, cut them and the such.

I've heard that welding underwater pays quiet good but is not an easy thing at all.. I've heard its extremely loud, you can feel the shock waves and its just a overall hard job. Living in Arizona, i don't see me getting any local places to do this so its not on the top of my list.

Getting certified. How hard really is it? Is it real expensive to get the test? Is it worth it? Can i get certified in Arizona?

I'm not sure.. i really want to go further in welding but not if its not a smart or logical choice. I need to pick my next years classes in probably the next 2 months so its crunch time. I only get to do this once so i want to do it right..

Any and i mean ANY comments, suggestions, ANYTHING is extremely welcome and greatly appreciated. Thanks alot guys.

Dirt
10-19-2005, 01:26 AM
ah.. my bad.. wrong Support, Help and Feedback thread :S

please move.. sorry.

Barry Pfaff
10-29-2005, 10:22 PM