PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice On A New Mig Welder.

westworks
03-17-2010, 06:50 PM
Hello,

First I'll give a little back-round info.
I am kinda new to welding, well I mean actually welding.
A Novice welder would best describe my skills.
I have a Hobart Handler 140. It does a really nice job for my light projects, but I have a lot of bigger projects with thicker steel. (welding on a dump-truck box, Trailer, Bobcat bucket, e.t.c.)
I am looking to upgrade to a bigger mig welder.
This Is what I am looking for...
Single phase, Cart Type, around 200 to 250amp with a good duty cycle.
The welder would work under farm to light industrial conditions.
I plan on keeping it for a long time, and would be willing to pay more for higher quality.
MiIler, Lincoln, Hobart seem to look good, and have many of the same features, but then a co-worker brought up Esab, and I started thinking again !!!

Decisions, Decisions !!!

Need help picking one out !!

Thanks !!
C

DSW
03-17-2010, 08:14 PM
Pretty much any of those machines would work well.

Hobart really doesn't have all that much in the heavier migs. They have the Ironman 230, it falls some where between Millers MM212 and the MM252.

Light industrial machines.
MM212 160 amps @ 60% 210 amp max
IM 230 175 amps @ 60% 250 amp max
PM 216 170 amps @ 60% 216 amps @ 30% 250 amp max
MM252 200 amps @ 60% 250 amps @ 40% 300 amp max
PM 255XT 250 amps @ 40% 300 amp max

Small buget machines.
HH210 150 amps @ 30% 210 amp max
MM211 150 amps @ 30% 210 amp max

The Millers and the Lincolns are all good machines. I'd have no issues with any of them. There's also a variety of older machines Miller's MM250, MM251 that are older versions of the MM252 and so on to think about too. I'm not that familiar with the Essab's.

A lot of this will have to do with your buget and what you are looking to do. The 250 amp class machines will do almost every thing you'd probably ever want to do, but are not cheap.