PDA

View Full Version : gas mix for autobody work?

emeraldcoupe
06-02-2010, 06:30 PM
hi guys, new guy here. i did a search but i guess three letter words don't work.

i have a little lincoln weld pac 100 that is set up for flux core wire. i've been doing more sheetmetal lately ( floorpans, patch panels,etc ) and want to convert to gas. what kind of mix should i be using? i've never used gas before, only the flux wire. thanks in advance!

illenema
06-02-2010, 06:43 PM
84/16 or 90/10 argon mix for very light steel

SundownIII
06-02-2010, 10:05 PM
Illenema,

Could you fill us in on why you feel 84/16 (Argon/CO2) is so good for this application.

C10, 90%Argon/10%CO2 is more of a spray mix and really not well suited for this application.

Small mig and thin sheet metal (autobody work) lends itself to C25. The additional CO2 helps in the wetout when using the smaller machine and proper technique prevents burnthru.

Just because your local gas supplier pushes his "magic gas" on you doesn't mean that it's the best for a particular application. Go to a different location/area of the country and ask for 84/16 and you may get looked at kinda strange.

Now, Illenema if you are using a gas mixer and a weldpak 100 and have determined, thru extensive experimentation, that 84/16 is the best gas for autobody work then that's a different story. I've got the mixers and don't like 84/16 at all on my HH187.

yorkiepap
06-02-2010, 11:08 PM
Hey Illenema,