PDA

View Full Version : I know this was old way before i ask it

unionjack
02-13-2006, 08:36 PM
This is my first time on here, so be kind! I am looking at a job change, and well you guessed it, i am looking at welding! Right now i live in Ohio and i am planing to move up to Sk. in Canada. I want to learn a trade and i picked welding. I want to get into one of the oil companies up there so the skills i want to learn will revolve around the oil and gas industry. With just starting out in learning what should i focus on as far as the types of welding and certs. i will need to be qualified to work in that industry. I am verry mechanicly inclined and i learn fairly quick, how long should it take to get the qualifications i need. Any and all advice/criticism/comments are welcome! I want to learn!!!!!!

Thanks

Root Dog
02-13-2006, 11:37 PM
Unionjack,

ridgerunner
02-13-2006, 11:56 PM
hiya union and welcome aboard
cant tell ya exactly what certs ya will need due to the fact that although ive been welding a long time i never had to deal with certs and that it will be very dependent on individual buisness.Im in the process of currently going back to school just basicaly to get more background info and technigue that i missed out on by basicaly teaching myself. I will be attending american tech institute starting this april,im sure there are better schools and worse ones however this is a 9 mth combination welding course that covers stick,mig,tig,oa,arc gouging,and cutting on alum,steel and stainless as well as pipe.
The unfortunate truth of the matter is that taking cert tests is not a cheap process here in the states and im sure its not any better up north.i would like to tell ya that ya can learn everything ya need by working at it on ur own but as ive found out its damn near impossible.