PDA

View Full Version : Basic Welding Questions?

Denny Kyser
09-02-2010, 05:49 PM
I am a photographer and studio owner and have always built my props and sets using wood, and often wished I could weld, I love to build things and never could with metal.

I purchased a Lincoln Pro Mig 140 to play around with and see if I can do this, always been able to learn anything I put my mind too, so hoping this also is possible.

The only instruction I have had so far is a Covel DVD and youtube, and have learned to look for penetration in the weld to see if its good.

I have a hard time seeing where the puddle is when welding, I am using a auto dim helmet and its set to 9, the lowest power I think. Is there a trick to seeing the seam your welding, or is this something you just get a feel for as you learn.

Also, as far as testing a weld. If I weld something and can not hammer it apart, is is safe to assume it will hold. I realize it will not look great, but talking about strength?

I will post some pics later and ask for some help on how to improve, with my business schedule not sure when I can take a welding class.

Booger Welder
09-02-2010, 05:59 PM
Buy a book and take welding classes at a local Vo Tech or Community College.

You are going to burn your eyes out - with the shade so high.

The purpose of the weld is to melt the base metal with the filler metal. Most times you have to grind back part of the base metal to give the filler metal someplace to go.

You want to hold the gun in one place long enough to create a string and you want to weave the gun back and forth from side to side to get the metal to flow and weave the heat from one part to the other. When you get to the end, you want to stop.

It usually requires a welding table - steel, some C clamps, some vise grips and a lot of patience. A 4 1/2 inch grinder and a air die grinder to get into tight spots. Things like a Dynafile comes down the road when you need to be neater in your work.

Denny Kyser