PDA

View Full Version : Newb question on cutting a 4130 cage and re-assembling it

broke33
09-06-2010, 01:58 PM
Im a newb here but I hope you guys can help me with my cage. I had a cage built for my 1991 F150 ext. cab truck out of 4130 by a well known racer in the Detroit area (Don Hardesty) a few years back. It is 4130 seamless, 1.625 diameter with 0.083 wall thickness. It is a complete over head hoop with 4 down legs and has a cross bar across the back 2 legs. He built it into the truck and I never got a chance to get the truck out of the garage before I decided to cut the cage out of. I now have a 1978 Bronco that I would like to put the cage in. It will not fit without me cutting it, positioning it inside and reassembling. My questions are as follows:

1) Where would be a good place to cut the cage (or is it ok to cut it)? I was thinking of cutting it in half at the middle of the hoop area on top then positioning it inside the bronco.

2) If that makes sense I was thinking about getting a piece of 4130 tube about 3 inches long that can slide over both pieces and pinning them together by drilling a hole and sliding a 1/2" hardened steel pin through both sides or I could get a piece of solid rod and slide inside the center of the pieces and do the same pinning operation.

3) I will be cutting the 2 mount plates off the front and will need to weld 2 flat plates to the feet for mounting. Is it ok to weld 4130 to a 1018 plate?

I do not have a tig but I have a Lincoln PM200 mig welder. I have researched this a little and if welding is required I was going to use the ER70s-2 wire for it.

I know Im asking alot here but before I start cutting, pinning and such I figured I would ask some experts.

The intended use for this cage is to protect the wife and kids when we go off roading, this will not be used for any competition racing or anything.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

tresi
09-06-2010, 04:44 PM