PDA

View Full Version : Rosebud - regulator settings?

jcrcr
02-14-2004, 12:49 PM
Hi all! I'm very new at gas setup and I need some help.

I'm looking for some advice on setting up my Victor torch and rosebud. I've tried using 5 psi for both oxy and acetylene, but all I get is a roaring flame and as I turn up the oxy to try and get the cones to appear, the torch POPS and goes out. The rosebud is a #6.

Also, my oxygen regulator guage ranges from 0 - 200. should I have a a guage with a lower range, say 0 - 50?

Thanks and regards,
John

:confused:

Franz
02-14-2004, 02:02 PM
4 to 1 ratio of oxygen to acet. Basic physics requires the 4 to 1 ratio for combustion.
Set your Acet @5 and your Oxygen @20 and see how it flys. If that doesn't support the tip, jack both up and maintain the ratio.
There are 2 valves on the torch handle that do all of the flame adjustment you'll need as long as the regulators are in the ballpark. My regulators are set @ 10 and 40 for the last 40 years, and don't get adjusted.
New guys tend to get way too absorbed in settings, be it regulators or amps & volts on a machine.
Your gague is fine, it doesn't need to be a 50# max, and I doubt the regulator will supply 200psi.

joehobart
02-14-2004, 02:20 PM
if you fish around on victor's website, you will find thier literature section.
http://www.thermadyne.com/vec/literature/pdfs/057_65-2007.pdf

From the chart a #6 MFA is 10/15 Oxy, 8/12 Acetylne in psi.

fla jim
02-14-2004, 06:42 PM
John.;
It's real important to remenber the "the 1/7th Rule" when using a large torch.