PDA

View Full Version : suggestions for begineers stick welder

Andybot
05-23-2011, 06:06 PM
Hi,
im new to welding and got myself a small ac arc welder ( 40-80 amps, 115 v) to learn on.
I have been practising running some beads on some scrap metal with 1/16" E6013 rod.

Is this a good rod to begin learning with or should i try something else?

The beads i do dont have much penetration and are more like little balls of metal with slag between them.

Im using the lowest , 40A setting, on the machine im using. I clean up the metal before using it but it seems to work the same if i leave the metal tarnished.

My question is what rod should i try first to make things easier to begin with? And what is the cause of my bead being balls of metal and not being a continuous bead. (my lack of skill aside)

Thank you in advance to any responders.

ANdy

Rick V
05-23-2011, 06:33 PM
Hi Andy,
Welcome to the The WeldingWeb.

It's quite difficult to work with small diameter rods at low amperage.
e.g like your 1/16 inch stick electode at 40 amps
I think you would be better off trying 5/64 inch at 60-80 amps or 3/32 inch.at 80 amps.
6013 is a good rod to begin with.

The most common beginner mistake it to keep too long an arc.
You might want to read my posting, "Learning to Stick Weld" -
http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=44592

There are other posts that you can search for that will help you.
Good Luck

boatbod
05-23-2011, 07:01 PM
6013 isn't going to give you much penetration, especially with such low amperage. If you want to dig a little deeper try some 6010/6011. For nice smooth beads with medium penetration try 7018, but note that you'll need to turn the amps up a bit compared to equivalent sized 60xx rods.

Andybot
05-23-2011, 08:11 PM
Thx both for your replies. And Rick thx for the link I will read that and get some thicker rods, ill leave the thinner ones till i have more experience.
Andy

snoeproe
05-23-2011, 08:51 PM