PDA

View Full Version : Stainless Steel Wire Size

ckollias
08-13-2011, 11:44 AM
So I am totally new to welding so forgive the newbie questions. I got a free Power Mig Astro 130 welder in decent shape. It is 130 amps and 115 volts. It takes wire size from .023" - 0.030" and spool size 4"-8". It says it can weld from 22 gauge to 1/4" steel and from 22 gauge to 1/8" aluminum and stainless steel.
http://www.penntoolco.com/catalog/products/products.cfm?categoryID=6028

I have to weld stainless steel 304 11 gauge - under UTILIZABLE WIRES it says this:

Ø 0,6 mm. copper coated mild steel
Ø 0,8 mm. copper coated mild steel
Ø 0,6 mm. stainless steel
Ø 0,8 mm. aluminium

I am assuming 0,6 mm corresponds to 0.023" wire, correct? For 304 SS which wire should I use, 308? and if so where can I find it in .023" the smallest I could find was .030". What would happen if I used .030".

I am obviously going to practice a ton before I take on this project - I just want to buy the right accessories.

Thanks for any help.

yorkiepap
08-13-2011, 12:05 PM
Hey ckollias,
Yes, 6mm is .023/.024 depending on manufacturer. 308(L) would work fine on 304SS. If you're doing sheetmetal, stay with .023. Here's where I get mine.....

Denny

http://store.weldingdepot.com/cgi/weldingdepot/308L0xx02.html

ckollias
08-13-2011, 12:14 PM
Thanks for the reply Denny - It's not sheet metal, it's actually 1/8" SS square tubing. 0.023" still ok?

yorkiepap
08-13-2011, 12:19 PM
Hey ckollias,
For 1/8". I would opt for the .030". It wouldn't hurt to get a 2# roll of each as you may need to do some sheetmetal on occasion.

Denny

ckollias
08-13-2011, 01:36 PM
So I guess that goes back to my original question - can I use .030" stainless steel wire when the instructions says under UTILIZABLE WIRES use 0.0.23" for stainless steel? If the welder can accept 0.30" wire - why does it say use 0.023" for stainless? Any harm in using the thicker wire? Just trying to clarify this.

B_C
08-13-2011, 03:28 PM