PDA

View Full Version : New here, looking to learn some things.

Cody01
10-29-2011, 11:48 AM
Hello, I'm 32 and have welded some with arc and 110v mig. Welded is something I never really thaught of as a unwanted task. I was always motivated to do a small project. Some of my stuff turned out pretty good and other stuff didn't. I have absolutely no training in welding at all. I'm all self taught and have finally came the realization I am missing tons of info that would benifit me. I actually want to start building a couple of small dump trailers and log splitters. I don't have 220v in my garage and was going to buy a Miller Bobcat and try to just do it all on arc but after reading it sounds like a good Mig setup might be better. I might just hire an electrician to install 220v and buy a Mig but not sure which one. I was considering one setup to do aluminum too so I could try some nice truck bumpers. I am out of my league for wanting to try this stuff without any training?

DSW
10-29-2011, 12:04 PM
No but a trailer is out of your leauge for a good while, at least one you'd tow on the road.

If you are serious, think about investing some money in a night class at a local tech school. When you sit down and figure out just what all the material, rod/wire, gas, electric and so on would cost you not to mention the instruction, a class is usually stupid cheap. It's also the fastest way to learn. You can fumble around for years and learn nothing but bad habbits on your own. With someone who knows what they are doing watching you and making suggestions, it's usually not hard to get the basics down fairly quickly.