PDA

View Full Version : Help with Gas regulators for Lincoln Mig

Lee-Enfield
01-04-2012, 09:39 AM
Okay so I have a few questions regarding mid welding and gas shielding and setting up for using gas. complete newb at this so i apologize for any errors or misunderstandings ahead of time.

I just recently purchased a Lincoln Electric Handy Mig welder and have been using it with Flux Core wire without gas,

I am wanting to set it up to run on Co2 since i currently have a full Co2 bottle left over from home brewing.

now it says in the instructions i can't use the Regulator that comes with the welder without some sort of adapter.

What I am wondering is, Can i use the regulator that comes with it ( meant for argon/co2 mix)
to run pure Co2 what are the downsides of doing so?

I also noticed that the regulator that comes with it does not have any sort of gauge to go with it to set Pressure or Volume and i am wondering if i should get a pure Co2 Regulator that does.

I have been having trouble finding out what regulators or feed rates are recommended when using this welder.
any help is appreciated

thanks!

lamename
01-04-2012, 11:02 AM
Does your regulator not screw onto your tank? If it does use it. It doesn't have some sort of knob to adjust the cfm coming out? If it does run 15 or so cfm. don't to forget to run electrode pos. polarity when you switch to solid wire. And make sure you have the correct size tip for your wire.

Lee-Enfield
01-04-2012, 11:08 AM
the regulator is designed to fit on a Argon/CO2 tank i believe

i THINK i can rig it to fit on my Co2 tank we used for home brewing

it has a allen wrench knob for adjusting but no dials at all

the Co2 Regulator for brewing i have on the tank only has dials for PSI not CFM

DSW
01-04-2012, 03:29 PM
Small cheap mig regs are often preset for flow so you don't need a gauge.