PDA

View Full Version : MIG, TIG, SMAW...it all stinks!

DirtyLittleSecret
02-10-2007, 12:57 AM
So, Im a newbie. Yesterday I got to use my buddies MIG (first time) at his exhaust shop, and I gotta say that it STANK! We had the bays completely open, and no cars running. My stick smells almost heavenly earthy compared to this...I actually got sick to my stomach after 30 minutes of this MIG.

Do different welders or modes of welding have different odors? Is it because of flux, different gasses, etc?

Never woulda thought about this, and just know that someone's gonna think Im a pansy...

ZTFab
02-10-2007, 01:08 AM
First off....what were you welding?

Possibility that the material you were welding had some coating, oil, or other crap on it that was making you sick.

Maybe some aluminized tubing? You said you were at an exhaust shop, right?

- Paul

LuzRD
02-10-2007, 01:21 AM
so far i LOVE the smell of all welding processes (ya pansy lol) MIG, TIG, STICK and it all has its own odor, now it just may be that the smell of mig isnt appealing to you.
I would first test Pauls thought about the material you were welding by finding another friend with a mig (or the same friend but with different (uncoated/clean) steel to weld for a comparison.
any chance that there was somthing else in the exhaust shop that was offending the ole sniffer?
if you weld with your face right above the puddle, maybe try and shift yourself back a wee bit so your not breathing the welding fumes directly.

DirtyLittleSecret
02-10-2007, 01:32 AM
It WAS aluminized tubing (replacing my exhaust, and no leaks so I guess it came out okay). I'll hit some spare tubing that I brought home to work on. Maybe I was letting off some gasses with the welding? I did clean it thoroughly with acetone as well.