Is this normal for a PP256
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    152

    Is this normal for a PP256

    I have only tried AC as this was my main reason for buying it.
    While welding on AC, if I set the amps at say 70 and attempt a weld and decide I need more or less amps and turn to look at the display, it will be displaying real low. when I turn the amp knob it returns to the original setting. I didn't record what the low amp reading was but it was about 1/2 of the setting. Is this normal???
    I plan on trying DC, stick and plasma this weekend to make sure those processes work OK.
    Other than the funky readings on the display it seems to weld fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lima, Ohio
    Posts
    156

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by stefuel View Post
    I have only tried AC as this was my main reason for buying it.
    While welding on AC, if I set the amps at say 70 and attempt a weld and decide I need more or less amps and turn to look at the display, it will be displaying real low. when I turn the amp knob it returns to the original setting. I didn't record what the low amp reading was but it was about 1/2 of the setting. Is this normal???
    I plan on trying DC, stick and plasma this weekend to make sure those processes work OK.
    Other than the funky readings on the display it seems to weld fine.
    I also had a funky reading on my display. Make sure you dont have the netural wire on the outlet side swapped with one of the hot legs. This made my machine run on half power . simple mistake that can be done easy. Wont hurt to check your plug
    Adult Ed. Instructor at Apollo Career Center
    Main Fabricator at Quality Welding & Fab. LLC

    Everlast 140t
    Lincoln 180c
    Hobart TR-250 AC/DC
    Everlast PP256
    Harris Oxy/Propane
    Jet Drill Press
    Hypertherm Max80

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    152

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by Hondaruss View Post
    I also had a funky reading on my display. Make sure you dont have the netural wire on the outlet side swapped with one of the hot legs. This made my machine run on half power . simple mistake that can be done easy. Wont hurt to check your plug
    I wired it AND double checked it with a multimeter. My welding power seems right on or slightly high based on the "Miller Tig calculator". I actually find my self turning it down some.

    Please note that on 220 volts there is only two hots and one ground. That is pretty hard to screw up.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    south GA where its hot in summer and cold in winter
    Posts
    3,665

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    On our welders, the display mode changes when you weld with it to read actual output, and not static setting. There is a delay when the arc is terminated before it reverts back to the static setting of the display. The last amps, whether with the torch switch up/downslope function or a quick off on the pedal, are displayed for several seconds after the weld is completed. Is this what you are referring to?
    Welders:
    Esab Migmaster 250
    Penncraft 230 (oldy but goody)
    HF Plasma 30 (Italian)
    Lincoln Ranger 8
    Smith Oxy/Acetylene/Propane
    Lincoln SA200
    Everlast Power Tig 250 EX
    Everlast PowerUltra 205

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lima, Ohio
    Posts
    156

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by stefuel View Post
    I wired it AND double checked it with a multimeter. My welding power seems right on or slightly high based on the "Miller Tig calculator". I actually find my self turning it down some.

    Please note that on 220 volts there is only two hots and one ground. That is pretty hard to screw up.
    Yep your right everyone is perfect. Who am I to second guess anyone making a simple mistake.
    Adult Ed. Instructor at Apollo Career Center
    Main Fabricator at Quality Welding & Fab. LLC

    Everlast 140t
    Lincoln 180c
    Hobart TR-250 AC/DC
    Everlast PP256
    Harris Oxy/Propane
    Jet Drill Press
    Hypertherm Max80

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    152

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by Hondaruss View Post
    Yep your right everyone is perfect. Who am I to second guess anyone making a simple mistake.
    I was not giving you crap. I'm far from perfect and that's why I double checked my own work with a meter. sorry.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lima, Ohio
    Posts
    156

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by stefuel View Post
    I was not giving you crap. I'm far from perfect and that's why I double checked my own work with a meter. sorry.
    My apologies Stefuel. Folks on the site do kinda speakout more then one should behind the keyboards No hard feelings.
    Adult Ed. Instructor at Apollo Career Center
    Main Fabricator at Quality Welding & Fab. LLC

    Everlast 140t
    Lincoln 180c
    Hobart TR-250 AC/DC
    Everlast PP256
    Harris Oxy/Propane
    Jet Drill Press
    Hypertherm Max80

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    152

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    "Folks on the site do kinda speakout more then one should behind the keyboards"
    You ain't just wistling dixie.
    Many on just about any forum you visit hide behind their screen and play tough guy.
    I am pretty smart but as of yet, have not figured out a way to reach through a screen and physically throttle someone........
    But I'm workin on it

  9. #9

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    I've got another..."is this normal" for the PP256.

    When I switch to pulse mode, the display starts switching from some hi value to a low value. As soon as I turn pulse off, it switches back to a fixed display.

    The pulser seems to work, but I can't tell what the machine is set to with pulser on. Does the same on high and low.

  10. #10
    Here is a video of what I'm talking about.

    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOE-te6FqHA[/ame]
    Last edited by fastmnstealth; 03-27-2012 at 02:46 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    152

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by fastmnstealth View Post
    Here is a video of what I'm talking about.
    Mine does that too.
    Everlast 250 EX - 2013 model
    Everlast I-Mig 250P with 20' Profax gun
    Everlast PowerPlasma60 with P80 torch
    Hobart Handler 135
    Everlast PowerPro256: Sold

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    S.W. Michigan
    Posts
    387

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Maybe it's low on gas...
    Hammer
    File
    Big Hammer
    ------------------------------
    Here, let me Google that for you...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    152

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by lamename View Post
    Maybe it's low on gas...
    How so ?
    Everlast 250 EX - 2013 model
    Everlast I-Mig 250P with 20' Profax gun
    Everlast PowerPlasma60 with P80 torch
    Hobart Handler 135
    Everlast PowerPro256: Sold

  14. #14

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by zoama View Post
    Mine does that too.
    I talked to tech support. I guess this is how it is "supposed" to work. The display is a filtered value of the current. As the current pulses, it samples on the way up and the way down. The display is essentially useless when pulser is on. Why couldn't they have just had it display max current? That at least would have been intuitive.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    south GA where its hot in summer and cold in winter
    Posts
    3,665

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Because, when max current is only displayed it would be highly innacurate. It has to show either a sample along the way, or have to show an average of the amps based off of the two amps, percent time on, and frequency. Showing max amps would be a false reading, especially when the unit goes to actively welding and changes to reading true output. (In pulse, the current is pulsing within the pulser circuit, and it reads it from there although no actual output is made until the unit is turned on.

    The meter can't possibly sample at the same speed the unit can pulse, and display it as well. Imagine trying to read a value that changes 500 times per second.

    Slow the pulse down to the minmum pulse speed, and you will get a fairly accurate sampling of amps.
    Welders:
    Esab Migmaster 250
    Penncraft 230 (oldy but goody)
    HF Plasma 30 (Italian)
    Lincoln Ranger 8
    Smith Oxy/Acetylene/Propane
    Lincoln SA200
    Everlast Power Tig 250 EX
    Everlast PowerUltra 205

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    916

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    The use of a digital display on welding and plasma cutters are just a selling thing to make you think your getting something special. It is as useful as wet toilet paper!
    Lincoln Power Mig 180C
    Hot Max Spool Gun
    HF 95136 and 60767 Plasma Cutter
    ALPHA TIG 200X
    Lincoln 225 AC
    www.georgesplasmacuttershop.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    152

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    Quote Originally Posted by jrw159 View Post
    I only stayed the one night and she paid me. She was NOT supposed to tell anyone about that!!

    jrw159
    I didn't realize you were into necrophilia.... 70 year old dead women?.. that's nasty.
    When I suggested you go outside, I meant in the daytime.
    Now wash your hands and run outside (don't forget your helmet).
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Everlast 250 EX - 2013 model
    Everlast I-Mig 250P with 20' Profax gun
    Everlast PowerPlasma60 with P80 torch
    Hobart Handler 135
    Everlast PowerPro256: Sold

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cal-i-forn-i-a like Swarzenegger
    Posts
    607

    Re: Is this normal for a PP256

    His picture is removed and i will lock it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement