How To Weld Thin Steel Edges?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

How To Weld Thin Steel Edges?

I'm a complete newbie. I'm trying to weld box section 40mm x 20mm galvanised steel. To make a gate.

One piece with butt up its open end against the side of another piece - that's where the horizontal top and bottom bars butt agains the uprights, okay?

So - being such a beginner I've been practicing just that weld. To see if I can do it. Can I build this thing? It looks like I can. Just. Horrible messy looking welds and a couple of times I've burned holes through, but I've joined the pieces so's they don't come apart when I bash them with a hammer.

I'm using a cheap SIP stick welder at about 55amps according to the sliding scale pointer and 2.5mm and 2.0mm general purpose electrodes.

I wanted to get 1.6mm sticks but I couldn't find any.

It isn't as I thought it would be - I'm not sure that the bigger electrode isn't better for the job than the smaller one.

So that's my first question: What would you all advise me to use for an electrode? The smallest one I can get, or what?

And the second question: A couple of times there was a bit of a gap where my angle-ground 'edges' test piece butted up against the 'wall' test piece and I found that when the electrode touched that free edge it just burned it away.

I tested this by trying to weld together two edges - got a gaping hole.

You can see it on the pic there.

So the second question: How to weld two 'edges' coming together?

I'll post pics of my test piece. It looks pretty horrible I warn you. I've included a pic showing the end of the stuff so's you can see the thickness and what I've been doing. I invite any comments at all......
    Attached Images Attached Images    

Re: How To Weld Thin Steel Edges?