Industrial Tradesman/ Shutdown jobs...
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Industrial Tradesman/ Shutdown jobs...

I graduated from welding school about a month ago now, and have yet to find a job. My school sends me the Industrial Tradesman once a month, which has a plethora of new jobs and shutdowns, but heres my question.....Is it best to fax your resume (which I have for a few jobs, but have not heard back yet) or is it best to just show up and hope theyre hiring? Its expensive obviously traveling to these jobs, Id hate to get to one only to find out theyve stopped hiring. Besides welding school I have no experience in the field, except a little construction work here and there and being prior- military. Any suggestions would help, thanks!

Re: Industrial Tradesman/ Shutdown jobs...

Good luck, keep working at it. Stress the Veteran status, there is a good awareness recently on the value of prior military training ~teamwork, maturity etc~
    ? Offer limited amount of free time to a local shop... hoping he will become a recommendation or see your value for his setup.

Fax then call I'd say... ASK for a person to person sit down interviews.

Gov't job? Civil service counts your service time for hiring.

All the luck in the world and especially thanks for being there for our country.
    Lincoln Power MIG 215
    Lincoln WeldPak 3200HD
    Lincon ProCut 25
    Lincoln WeldanPower 225 AC/DC

If all else fails... buy more tools

nightman,
    Many years ago (too many) I was leaving a contractor's office in a dejected state of mind, slumped shoulders and kind of 'low'.

A welder who'd been turned down for work, like my interest in working as a helper at that location, came out of the same office, just behind me, but he was cheerful and upbeat.