Buying Oxy-Acetylene torch & bottles- HELP!
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Buying Oxy-Acetylene torch & bottles- HELP!

Howdy all, my first post here... glad to find this forum.

I am setting up a small "garage sized" metalworking setup. I intend to mostly just do small projects like hanging pan racks, maybe a small trailer or two. Nothing big. Also, I work as an owner operator and occasionally need to weld or cut on my truck or trailer, but I can't get the trailer to my house... I live in a cul-de-sac and my neighbors would frown on me backing the trailer in to weld on it!!

I have purchased a 220V arc welder, a chopsaw, angle grinder, helmet, gloves, etc.. I want to buy a torch setup, but to get a nice Victor torch and the "medium" sized bottles (80cu ft oxygen) at the local Welding supply outfit would set me back about $575. I also looked at the smaller Victor "Cutskill" portable setup with a 20cu foot oxygen/ 10 cu ft Acetylene bottle, for about $200 less.

I am wondering if the Cutskill setup would have enough gas to last any time at all? My inclination is to spend more now for the medium size setup and have a "real" working sized torch, but I'd love to hear your opinions either way. If the Cutskill lasts awhile, maybe it would suffice???

Re: Buying Oxy-Acetylene torch & bottles- HELP!

Go with an oxy-propane setup, you'll save a ton of money on the tanks.

Those little cylinders are just going to a aggravate you, there too small to do any real work with. The cutskill will be fine, I would at least look a the medium sized tanks, I got a Q oxy and a B acetylene, I've already ran out of acet. once. but I don't cut much, mostly weld or heat. I never considered using propane, but I hear that it's way cheeper, and works just as good, once you learn how to light the torch that is.

if you have a tractor supply store around they sell tanks and have exchange tanks. not sure how much but might be worth a call.