Career Change at 43
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Career Change at 43

I would like to hear opinions, good and bad, on making a career change to welding at the ripe old age of 43. Some basic facts, I have a college degree in Accounting and doing consulting. I currently live in North Chesterfield, Virginia. I've never welded or done any metal fabrication but was always amazed by the process of taking a chunk of metal and turning into something. Same thing with wood and I've done a lot of woodworking, but feel metal has more opportunities for making an income vs. wood. So do you think I'm crazy?
    Last edited by vasman; 06-06-2012 at 12:58 PM.

Re: Career Change at 43

Not nearly enough information to make recommendations.

What is your degree in?

Are you currently employed?

Have you ever done any welding?

Are you financially prepared to go without income for an extended "learning" period?

Welding, like any skilled trade, requires considerable training/experience before you're "employable".

As a new poster, you'll find that you "get as much out of a post/question as you put in". Quite frankly, you haven't put forth much effort so far.
    Syncro 250 DX
    Dynasty 200 DX
    MM 251 w/30A SG
    XMT 304 w/714 Feeder & Optima Pulser
    HH187
    Dialarc 250 AC/DC
    Hypertherm PM 1250
    Smith, Harris, Victor O/A
    Smith and Thermco Gas Mixers
    Access to a full fab shop with CNC Plasma, Water Jet, etc.

Sundown,

Thanks for the reply. I've updated my original post. I can weather the short term financial shortfall. I will attend and get the certification from the local junior college or trade school first, but I just want to see if this is something I can make a career or should I just think of it as an expensive hobby?

vasman

Not to be frank, but yes, I think you're crazy.