What is the general consensus on the HF tig welders?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

What is the general consensus on the HF tig welders?

Hey everyone. I hope this thread doesn't annoy anyone, but I'm a very novice welder (strictly hobby but I still want to learn well) and I've been really wanting to learn TIG welding.

I enjoy welding and I will be welding a lot of sheet metal on my 1966 Mustang. I am planning on tearing out the cowl and welding in new metal. I have a Clarke 135 amp MIG welder that I got for very cheap and works perfectly.

I've been looking at the HF tig/stick welders, and I've been thinking of getting one. I know "you get what you paid for" is always true, but how bad are these welders? This is just for a beginner trying to learn so is it still not worth it? And I was thinking it would be nice to have a stick welder handy.

So what do you guys think?

Re: What is the general consensus on the HF tig welders?

I did it just to learn and I liked it. Figured it was cheap and if I didn't like it I wasn't out a lot of money, but I love it and then bought a miller.
    Torchmate 2x2 CNC
    Longevity 200ex
    Longevity Forcecut 62i
    Longevity ProMTS200 & Spool gun
    Thermal Arc 186
    Tweco 141i

Thanks a lot Gamble! Now that you have a miller (which I would love to get), how would you compare them? How different are they? Is one smoother or easier or more durable? What about features? Sorry to ask so many questions.
    Edit: I know there's really no comparison between a miller and an HF but what I want to know I'd what specifically makes the HF so much cheaper.
    Last edited by UMfan92; 06-18-2012 at 10:30 AM.