Total newbie - heating 3/16" steel with Map-Pro (Worthington WK5500)
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Total newbie - heating 3/16" steel with Map-Pro (Worthington WK5500)

Hi guys, just discovered this forum and am brand spanking new to this.

I've been trying to heat 3/16" x approx 2" steel so I can shape it into a bracket, which I originally made out of approx. 1/16" metal and was way too flimsy. So I have that as a prototype, and want now to recreate it with this thicker steel.

I've tried propane and literally 20 minutes later, still no colour change.

My first question is, after having read the instructions, and watched their YouTube video (and a whole bunch of other welding/brazing videos), is - they say how to get the flame to solder, and to weld, and to cut, but not how to heat. Which one would I use to heat-and-bend?

Reason I ask is I would be inclined to use the welding settings, but with such a small amount of oxygen available, I don't want to be using more than I need. I only have one tank right now lol

My second question is approx. how far should the flame be from the metal I'm heating?

I know I have a lot to learn, and I will be reading this forum religiously as I am hoping to get good enough to do things like make/modify motorcycle gas tanks etc. - so lots to learn

Though I don't plan on anything structural/high load so I hope I can avoid going to TIG/MIG (I rent and there's probably no way to get high amperage 220V here), but at some point I am OK to switch to oxy/acetylene if I start getting good.

And an evening/weekend college course is in order if I find myself enjoying this

Thanks kindly.
    Shawn

Re: Total newbie - heating 3/16" steel with Map-Pro (Worthington WK5500)