BBQ Pit building
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

BBQ Pit building

Hey guys it's me again and this time I am starting on a BBQ pit made out of a 250 gallon propane tank. I will be updating every chance I get and I will also make a video when I'm done. Here are some pics haven't done much yet. Most of my day was spent flushing any residual propane out.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Miller AEAD 200 LE

Re: BBQ Pit building

How are you going to cut the tank?

Dont forget that water alone will not remove all the residual propane in the tank, a small portion will permeate the interior of the tank and still have minimal residue.
    I break things for a living...

Don't think about cutting it too much because when it nukes on you, ya won't feel much. LOL for real though I've looked into this extensively. The tank won't explode. It could however flash burn. So ware protective equipment and keep your face and body parts away from any potential vents. Keep your face back from what ever your are cutting with and body away from any holes you cut. If you fill the tank with water you have effectively displaced the propane. However it is still possible there is propane left in the tank but the danger is super minimal. I have been told if you are really concerned with it to fill the tank have a buddy or rig a water hose so water is constantly flowing into the tank. Cut with a torch from top to bottom. My understanding is the torch will not go out because you are providing the oxygen. How true this is I don't know but I'm not even bothering. I'm cutting mine with a grinder as I don't have a torch right now. My brother in law and I are going to start building pits for extra cash. We found a source of used tanks.
    Last edited by Zapzoo; 10-18-2012 at 08:13 PM.