cast aluminum
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: cast aluminum

cast aluminum

there is a cast aluminum bracket on my truck that holds the power steering pump on and it is broken.

how hard is it to weld cast aluminum? and will it hold?

G3
    miller... 225g, s32p, 250x, 304, 12vs, MSW41
    victor o/a
    thermal dynamics cutmaster 50
    lenco panel spotter
    hobart hf-box

G3 Farms.....raising cattle, hay, kids and hell, ...oh yeah I'm a fire sprinkler contractor by trade.

Re: cast aluminum

Not hard at all if you take your time, prep it properly and clean it.

Again, if the above is adhered to, it will hold forever.

Reference this post: http://www.weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=12795
    John
    - fabricator extraordinaire, car nut!
    - bleeding Miller blue!

http://www.weldfabzone.com

Yes you can. Clean it thoroughly. Don't use abrasives with aluminum oxide in them.

A trick I learned here is to go over the piece with the torch and no filler. This will float some of the crap to the top so you can clean it again. It also preheats the piece.

Here is a golf cart clutch

http://www.weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=15798
    Real world weldin.

When I grow up I want to be a tig weldor.

Quote Originally Posted by G3farms
    there is a cast aluminum bracket on my truck that holds the power steering pump on and it is broken.

how hard is it to weld cast aluminum? and will it hold?

G3
    1-What the previous posters have said is correct as far as prep and weld procedure.

2-Cast aluminum--especially highly stressed parts like yours, often need gussetting, strong-backing and reinforcement, in addition to full pen. welding. Most production aluminum castings have continuous internal porosity (due to the casting methods used)--which makes them inherently weak.