Burnt eyes
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: Burnt eyes

Burnt eyes

Here is a subject I have not came across here yet. How many of you have managed to burn your eyes from welding or gouging flash? Home remedy? Costly trip to the ER in the middle of the night? Any tricks to get through a painful night of eyeball peel?
    John

Re: Burnt eyes

I seen a couple threads on it. 'arc flash' or 'flash burn'

iirc, one of the remedies was milk (do your own research, I don't remember what kind of milk), potato slices.

i have heard if you put cucumber slices on you eyes it is susposed to help.

been flashed a couple of times but never that bad.

G3
    miller... 225g, s32p, 250x, 304, 12vs, MSW41
    victor o/a
    thermal dynamics cutmaster 50
    lenco panel spotter
    hobart hf-box

G3 Farms.....raising cattle, hay, kids and hell, ...oh yeah I'm a fire sprinkler contractor by trade.

the very first time I was around welding for any amount of time I got flashed bad enough to make that night a living hell. I had somebody go get me some visine and was dumping it in my eyes all night, slept a little bit. I dont know if visine is the right thing to do, but I remember that it felt so much better every time I put it in. Then the next day I was ok.

Just gotta remember that you will feel better and not to get bummed out.

Any cases of permanent blindness?
    I've known a couple of guys who've flashed themselves and had some suffering but never heard of anyone going permanently blind (except for the arc-adjusting monk in A Canticle for Liebowitz).

By the way... what does a trip to emerg cost? Here in Canada it's free.
    A man who can't weld is as poorly educated as a woman who can't sew

Cut a potato in half and put on the eyeballs, raw side to the eyeball.