Northern Industrial ST80i
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Northern Industrial ST80i

Anyone have any feedback on this? I'm a beginner just looking to do small projects and learn on a limited budget.

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...2862_200512862

Re: Northern Industrial ST80i

Welcome..looks like a good place to start. no experiance whith that model but like i said a good place to start.

At that price of $150, looks like a good deal but a used lincoln would be better.

check on the price for the "optional" tig torch.
    You can find a new Thermal Arc 95 on ebay now for right around $250ish, with shipping, and I would have more faith in the TA. But at least N'Tools stands behind their stuff.

Good luck Giggity, welcome to WW and keep us informed as to what you decide and how you like it.
    Lincoln SA 200
    Esab Caddy 160
    Thermal Arc 201TS
    Miller Dialarc HF

I don't like making plans for the day because then the word "premeditated" gets thrown around the courtroom....

Looks good, see if you can get a copy of the "Manufactures Warranty" check the fine print, see it it has to be sent back to the Manf for repair and of course where the Manf. is and who pays the freight.

dubl_t, that includes the TIG torch and shipping. The TA95 is about $300 for the stick kit only. Add another $130 for the TIG.

Weldbay, One year replacement warranty. An extra year is $15 more. Don't know about shipping.

edit - the price is $230 for everything. I thought that was in my original post.
    Last edited by Giggity; 11-03-2012 at 05:55 PM.

Yea Gig,
    I see where pricing for the TA is mostly for "stick only" kits.

I say buy the Northern tools model and have fun. Remember, it's not the last welder you're gonna buy

Hey and also, you don't need the mfgr's "tig torch package" as for the most part, torches are universal and sometimes you can find cheaper ones elsewhere. But NT's torch price is pretty good.
    Lincoln SA 200
    Esab Caddy 160