Peening Aluminium
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Peening Aluminium

Has anyone ever peened an Aluminium weld to relieve stress?
    I've never heard of it myself , would it achieve anything on Aluminium ?
    My initial impression is no, but I'm open to input from the more knowledgeable here.

We need to weld up 17 beams out of 200x50 box section (8mm wall) they have 160x 10mm bottom flanges welded to the bottom for the full length and some other assorted fittings .
    They are for some very large external ally louvers .
    A good guess is better than a bad measurement

Re: Peening Aluminium

Never heard of anyone doing it. I used to weld a lot of AL and never had to.
    The difference between art and craft is the quality of the workmanship. I am an artist.

X2

I've peened connecting rods but never Aluminum..

...zap!

I am not completely insane..
    Some parts are missing

Professional Driver on a closed course....
    Do not attempt.

We shot peen forged pistons (2618).

Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    My initial impression is no, but I'm open to input from the more knowledgeable here.

We need to weld up 17 beams out of 200x50 box section (8mm wall) they have 160x 10mm bottom flanges welded to the bottom for the full length and some other assorted fittings .
    1-pics or a drawing would help the rest of us visualize what you're talking about, mate.

2-Since you're describing welding a flange along the entire length of the beam, is what you're really asking about is controlling significant distortion of the beam from welding this continuous welding of the flange????

3-If my guess is correct, then peening won't buy you zip.

4-planned placement of the welds, relative to the sides of the box beam will help--some; if that's possible, within the design.

5-the ultimate way to manage this weld-induced distortion, is to pre-stress the beam,