My Chinese expireince
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

My Chinese expireince

I am a hobbyist and read about the 3 in 1 mutli function chinese units on ebay for several weeks. I finanly ordered one about a month ago and heres my expriencne so far :

the seller on ebay had 100% postive feedback and the unit was a Simadre 416 for $499 shipped { from China even though the ebay seller was listed as living in California }

the unit took a few days longer to get here, but the seller sent me free consumables to make up for the slight delay. It was packaged well and all components were unharmed in shipping.

Negatives :

some of the chinese hose clamps are chessy so I went with american made clamps. The air regulator has a small air leak around the plastic bowl area where it threads on. Wehn using the plasma cutter today, it started to only work intermitnently. I found out that a small metal pin in the thumb trigger had backed out of its hole a bit and wasnt allowing the thumb trigger to make contact to kick the plasma cutter on. I pushed the pin back in and epoxied it and the problem has now been permanently fixed. Finally, the instruction manual isnt very good but anyone with a bit of common sense can figure out how to setup the unit { there is a troubleshooting guide in the back of the manaul to try and help diagnose any problems that may arise, but its mostly a joke.

Postives :

Ive used this unit for about a month now and have used the plasma cutter and stick welder for :

7-8 gauge flat plate steel

12-14 gauge galvanized steel culvert

sheet metal roofing.