Pulse on a TIG machine?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Pulse on a TIG machine?

I have been looking at some TIG machines and some advertise having "Pulse" capability. What is this for or what does it help? I am new to TIG welding, I am a pretty decent stick and MIG welder but have not doe much with TIG. Thanks for any assistance.

Re: Pulse on a TIG machine?

pulse is basically a "dime" when i use pulse i turn the heat higher then normal and run over the rod. the pulse itself is the machine making the heat go in and out. just give the bead a nice look
    6G zirconium 702 GTAW 2" xxheavy
    6G P.E.D. carbon steel GTAW 2" xxheavy
    3G titanium Gr. 2 - Gr. 7 GTAW up to 3/4"
    3G 316L stainless GTAW up to 1"
    3G carbon steel GTAW up to 1"
    3G Hastalloy GTAW up to 3/4"
    1G tantalum GTAW up to .060"

Pulse is basically fluctuating between a high peak current and a low background current, depending on the machine it can do this between 5 to several hundred times per second. If you tried to weld at the background amperage your arc would go out, but since it fluctuates between the high and the low it keeps the arc lit. Pulse is great for thin materials, out of position, and lowers the overall heat input put in to a part. I'm not a fan of pulse mig for thicker steel, (1/4" and above) as above 1/4" you should probably be in a spray transfer mode anyway, and you should be concerned about penetration, not reducing heat input.

My Miller Syncrowave 200 has a pulse feature. When doing aluminum in AC TIG mode, it can be set to varying speeds. One nice thing that it can do is to help you to time your dips with the filler rod.

If you are doing welding without filler, it can give a very pretty weld with little effort. By all means, if you are shopping for a new machine, get one with pulse. It's a worthwhile feature.