MIG welding freon bottles
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

MIG welding freon bottles

Hi all,
    I am new to MIG welding and bought a Hobart Handler 125. I'm welding on Freon containers and trying to get the best settings for this welder. There are some suggested settings inside the door. I'm going by the settings for 1.2mm thick steel.

Flux core wire, .035
    Voltage is set at 2 and wirespeed is 15

I'm good at blowing holes in the metal. I need some suggestions on settings and technique. I'm welding washers, nuts and pipes to the freon containers. Yard art projects.

Re: MIG welding freon bottles

What is your base metal for the containers?
    Nuts typically have a carbon content around .5, makes welding difficult
    How thick is it(to thin with to high of a heat input= burn through)?
    Are you addressing issues regarding impact values( what is the temp of the containers in service)?
    shielding gas or self shielded? if gas what type?
    What is the surface condition of the containers?

Since this is for "Yard Art" you won't care much about carbon content and impact properties, unless the art is very big, heavy, or spins and wiggles alot.

Cleaning the nuts and washers with a grinder or sander will help alot, and if the freon tanks are painted, get that off where you want to weld.

As far as blowing holes, I am not familiar with your machine so the settings are greek to me. If it seems like the settings are close and your still blowin holes in the tank:

Favor the thicker part, if your welding a nut to the tank, start your arc on the nut and let the edge of the puddle just barely wet the tank, let the nut take the heat. Just push the puddle onto the tank for a sec then go back to the nut.

And then post pictures of your yard art
    Yup

If you are blowing holes, use the next setting down, or the one after that.....

David
    Real world weldin.

When I grow up I want to be a tig weldor.

shanghyd,