Hobart Beta Mig 250 - A good idea to buy?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Hobart Beta Mig 250 - A good idea to buy?

Hello All,

I'm a welding newbie and new to the forums, but very interested in buying a mig welder for home/hobby use.

I'm considering purchasing a Hobart Beta Mig 250 that is being sold as surplus by a local metal fab. shop (asking $575.) For my purposes this is an elephant gun and WAY more than I would need. However, it seems that for about the same money as the chinese offerings from Harbour Freight (many of which feature a 25% duty cycle) I can get a serious tool that I'll never outgrow, assuming it doesn't break down.

I called Hobart today with the S/N and they were kind enough to send me a manual. They indicated that replacement parts are still available for this unit, with the possible exception of the transformer. One strange thing I discovered from Hobart is that the unit is from 1992 though the fab shop says it was new in 1999. Haven't spoken with them yet to find out if there's a reason for the discrepency.

Alternatively, something along the lines of this Clarke 180EN looks pretty good to me. http://cleveland.craigslist.org/tls/825481145.html

Can anyone advise me on whether or not this seems like a good idea? Many thanks in advance!

Clay Johnson

Re: Hobart Beta Mig 250 - A good idea to buy?

Welcome to the forum. I would not worry about the transformer going out. I would think that is the least likely component to fail. I'd buy the Betamig over the Clark any day.

The clark does not compare. Personally, I'd stick with brand names (Miller, Hobart, Miller, Esab).
    Millermatic Passport Plus
    Millermatic 200

Millermatic 350P with Python
    XMT 304 /w S-64 feeder and 12RC
    Dynasty 300 DX
    Victor O/A
    Premier Power Welder for my trail junk.