alberta, cant get straight answer
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

alberta, cant get straight answer

Im living in british columbia and really want to work in alberta. Im an A level welder with pressure tickets 7, 10, 11 and all my cwbs for stick and flux core.

I cant get an answer to what you need to work in alberta. Some say you need a IP. Some say you just need you bcp 100. Some say you cant do the bcp 100 without your IP, some say I could with just an A level. Some say it depends on the employer.

But meanwhile they are importing people from other countries to work in alberta when there are tons of canadians from british columbia dying to work there

whats the real deal????????

thanks

Re: alberta, cant get straight answer

i have spoken to a fair # of people and actually am planning/thinking of heading out there once school finishes up for me this summer but the credentials that i have been told to get before going out there are B level or your IP and a pressure ticket. best way to get a job (so i have been told several times over) is just pack 'er up and head out there with a stack of resumes. shouldnt be hard at all for you to find work in dirty mack....of course the required credentials will be different form job to job thats the basics of what you should have

hope this helps

Sounds like you are more than experienced and qualified.

Problem comes in matching up your training program to "ours".

Any chance that you have your IP? That is recognized over here, and you should be on your way.

Really though, just type up your resume, grab your helmet and gloves, and start banging on doors.

I will try to remember tomorrow to dig through my files and get the number for the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training office here in town and you can talk to one of the supervisors.

All this has been covered recently on this forum. One of the threads was called BC vs Alberta (I think) Just search for it.

Have a good night.
    Later,