What size breaker for my syncrowave 200
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Waupaca, Wi
    Posts
    14

    What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    I just got a 2006 syncrowave 200 with 6 hours on it. i have it hooked up with 230v with an 80 amp breaker and when welding aluminum it will trip the breaker. idk whats up with it. it recomends 80 amp. I was only welding at 175 amps also.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Marlborough, The Peoples Republik of MA
    Posts
    3,572

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    When running a Syncrowave at full tilt on AC they really pull some amps. I just checked the book and it says you only pull 54 amps, give or take. Your breaker might be weak, try swapping it out to start. If that dosent do the trick get your hands on an amp meter and see what it is actually pulling.
    Disclaimer; "I am just an a$$hole welder, don't take it personally ."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Waupaca, Wi
    Posts
    14

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    ok il try that. thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    3,755

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    Mine is running off a 50 amp breaker and only trips if run wide open for maybe 5 minutes+.
    My name's not Jim....

    Syncrowave 200
    Millermatic 251 w/bottle mod
    Spoolmatic 30A
    Cutmaster 81
    Jet JTM-1 mill
    Jet GH-1340-W3 lathe
    Ellis 1600

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    3,184

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    We've tripped a 70A breaker with a Sync 250 on cold startup. Doesn't seem to be a problem running at maybe 200A with a water cooler on the same circuit.
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250
    Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    TA 161 STL
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder
    Clausing 5904 lathe
    Wells-Index 745 mill

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    city of Four Flags
    Posts
    705

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    S/W 200 is supposed to pull 54 amps on either 208/230 single phase.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    NW Atlantic Ocean, MA
    Posts
    133

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    This is how you determine the input requirements for your Syncrowave 200:
    http://www.millerwelds.com/service/locate_om.php
    Syncrowave 300
    Maxtron 450, S-52E, 30A

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Waupaca, Wi
    Posts
    14

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    Could the machine be set up wrong?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    NW Atlantic Ocean, MA
    Posts
    133

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    Could be. The manual (found in the link above) is the best place to start.
    Syncrowave 300
    Maxtron 450, S-52E, 30A

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Waupaca, Wi
    Posts
    14

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    ok thanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    5,248

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    Quote Originally Posted by TozziWelding View Post
    When running a Syncrowave at full tilt on AC they really pull some amps. I just checked the book and it says you only pull 54 amps, give or take. Your breaker might be weak, try swapping it out to start. If that dosent do the trick get your hands on an amp meter and see what it is actually pulling.
    That is 54amps at the RATED 150 amps welding.

    The electrical specs call for a CB of 60amp or an 80amp FUSE.

    The CB is lower because they have a Time delay built in that should work/cover the short duration over the rating.

    If the OP has an 80amp CB and it is tripping then, as you mentioned, something is off fer sure.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    TA 185
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    857

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    I must be lucky then. I have mine on a 50 amp braker with 8 feet of #6 cable and have never triped it even runing 200 amps tig welding 1/2 aluminum
    Lincoln Power Mig 180C
    Hot Max Spool Gun
    HF 95136 and 60767 Plasma Cutter
    ALPHA TIG 200X
    Lincoln 225 AC
    www.georgesplasmacuttershop.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    38

    Re: What size breaker for my syncrowave 200

    I use a syncrowave 350 at work and I put a 90 amp breaker in (didn't have a 100 amp on hand) it stopped tripping. You need to be careful about arbitrarly putting a larger breaker in. It really depends on the size of the service wires. Too large and you take a chance of burning the wires up fire and so on. If you don't know much about electricity or the size of the wires to and from your breaker box you might want to consider hiring an electrician.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement