Welding lead do's n don'ts
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Welding lead do's n don'ts

I am setting up my welding rig @ my new job and most of the guys have welding lead reel spools on thier trucks. i guess maybe i'm old school but i was always taught back when i was an apprentice that weld lead should never be rolled up on a spool and energized (used) due to it causing a magnetic field which would affect the quality of the weld. I have welded some with thier rigs and don't see any apparent difference but I will be doing code stamp welds and have my certs for 6G down to 1 inch so i don't want to be turning out a weld that looks good on top but does not have the quality where it counts. any input would be helpful.

Re: Welding lead do's n don'ts

It is still official practice that the leads have to be completely unwound before use, but you see it done both ways, probably depending on job and time.

Never heard that story. I ran a set of leads on spools for around 12 years and never had one problem with my welds or my leads. I welded a lot of high pressure pipe, sch. 160 and 180, and a lot of other things that had a lot of stress and never had any trouble at all. About all the pipeliners that I see around here use spools and always have.

what was the diameter of thier spools, we are talking about 3 inch pipe with 12 or 16 inch flanges that the lead is rolled onto. glad to hear about not having problems, the reels seem like a real upgrade from stringing lead but i'm still not sure...
    RTCROSSRW

Got a photo?

Seems like a slow way to get your leads in and out. I have seen leads that are had it because they where used spooled up.
    I'd rather be hunting........
    USE ENOUGH HEAT.......

Drifting around Aussie welding more pipe up, for something different.....wanting to get home.

south GA where its hot in summer and cold in winter