RG45 for TIG
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: RG45 for TIG

RG45 for TIG

I really did search the forum, but did not find the answer to my question. There are several references to RG45 but I did not read every one of them.

As a TIG noob, I went into a different LWS today for some cups and told him I needed some 3/32" TIG rods for regular steel. Normally I buy ER70S from my other LWS. He sold me some RG45 3/32" and when I questioned him, he said yes those were for TIG. I came back to work, searched and everything I find is RG45 is for gas welding, not TIG. So I called him and asked but he assured me that is what his customers use for TIG.

I think I have enough of a learning curve without having problems with the filler rod. So before I go back and demostrate just how ignorant I really am, is RG45 normally used for TIG?
    Burt
    Miller Thunderbolt XL AC/DC
    10FtDrillBit.com

Re: RG45 for TIG

Quote Originally Posted by wb4rt View Post
    I really did search the forum, but did not find the answer to my question. There are several references to RG45 but I did not read every one of them.

As a TIG noob, I went into a different LWS today for some cups and told him I needed some 3/32" TIG rods for regular steel. Normally I buy ER70S from my other LWS. He sold me some RG45 3/32" and when I questioned him, he said yes those were for TIG. I came back to work, searched and everything I find is RG45 is for gas welding, not TIG. So I called him and asked but he assured me that is what his customers use for TIG.

I think I have enough of a learning curve without having problems with the filler rod. So before I go back and demostrate just how ignorant I really am, is RG45 normally used for TIG?
    Nope, it is not for tig.

Was it an Airgas store that sold you the gas rod?
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"