No auto idle on powerweld 303
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

No auto idle on powerweld 303

Hi, I'm new here, my name is J-F and I'm a farm/truck mechanic. Just bought a hobart powerweld 303 yesterday, and here is my problem. the auto-idle do not work. By the way is my first gas-powered welder, so i don't know much about them... The machine have the auto switch, lill black module on the right side, some kind of vacuum solenoid witch one red wire is connected to a small actuator on the carb. The governor is connected to the carb. via the rod. Now I think i'm missing a part, because I do have a small chain attached to the carb. linkage to a small lever on top of the governor, but nothing connected to...
    The guy put a throttle cable to control the engine speed witch do not allow the governor to work properly. I know the proper engine speed is 1800 RPM, but with no governor (and RPM gauge) it will be very hard to control.
    My question is : Do anybody have a picture of the right side of the engine, or some sorte of shop Manuel, or even an idea of what is missing.
    If the engine turn to fast or not enough, do I can cause any damage to the welder?

Thanks,
    J.F

Re: No auto idle on powerweld 303

Welcome Jfsanterre,

You definitely should not over-speed the generator.
    Doesn't your Hobart have a Ford six with a belt-driven governor?
    If so, manually setting the governor control to "full fuel" shouldn't allow the engine to over-speed.

For a Hobart manual source, check out reply #21 here:
    http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=28906

Good Luck

The welder have the ford 6 cyl. engine with the belt governor. The carburetor have been replaced recently with a Motocraft one... I'll look a the tag # lather make sure it is the good one. The thing is, the throttle cable is attached directly to the carb. linkage and not the governor, so the governor work against the cable. I may try to install the cable to the governor today.