stick welding aluminum help
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

stick welding aluminum help

Hey guys im fairly new at welding and am having some trouble stick welding aluminum. Im pretty sure that my electrodes are 3/32 4043. The aluminum im welding is 1/8" thick and im pretty sure the type is 4043 also? I am using the best 120v stick welder that I could find. It maxes out at 100 amps. My problem is that it seems when I start my arc I'm not putting out enough amps and the arc just dies out. I can weld 1/8" steel with 3/32" electrodes no problems. I figured that steel needs more amps than aluminum but I could be wrong. Any suggestions.
    Attached Images Attached Images     

Re: stick welding aluminum help

I'm guessing you're using an AC machine, not a DC welder? If so, this is most likely your problem...What welder are you using? What polarity do you have it set for?

The one time I used some aluminum SMAW electrodes, I remember teh current being pretty low, 60-70 amps, and I think the machine was set to DCEN(if I remember correctly).
    Benson's Mobile Welding at your worksite or place of business. Serving Dayton, Ohio and the surrounding metro areas.
    AWS Certified Welding Inspector (#XXX10731) and Certified Welding Educator (#XXX1008E)

Now im sad......... It is an ac welder. So there is now way to weld aluminum with an ac welder????? I do have a 120v dc mig but i do not have an argon setup. Is there anyway to get a solid aluminum weld with mig without argon. I know they sell fluxcore steel wire but i cannot find anything like that for aluminum. thx guys
    Last edited by bkrider113; 07-08-2009 at 04:34 PM.

Your going to have a vary hard time stick welding aluminum with with a 120v ac arc welder. That's not the machine for arc welding aluminum. I see very little metal deposited at all on that plate your attempting to run a bead on.
    Stick welding aluminum is for thick material only, no thin stuff.