new to welding aluminum with spool gun
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

new to welding aluminum with spool gun

Hi all

So i have a lincoln 180c welder and a spool gun to go with it to weld alloy.
    I'm new to welding alloy and steel but figured out how to weld steel pretty quickly and now welding steel on a daily bases for about a month.
    I fabricate gates and fences made out of alloy or steel and have to do alot of miter joints for the corners.
    I haven't been able to make anything out of alloy yet since i only got my spool gun 1 week ago.
    So i tried welding alloy and its alot harder than i thought. Yes i have straight argon and have set the settings that's written on the inside of the welder but it seems to blow holes because its to hot and when i turn it down the wire sometimes pushes the gun back and doesn't get an arc.
    I want to know if anybody has any good tips on how to set a spool gun connected to a lincoln 180c that is used to weld 1.6mm thick aluminum box tubing.
    Also what is the best way to weld miter joins because i am totally failing on welding aluminum miter joints. Should i bevel the outside joint and weld that or should i leave it as it is and just powder coat straight over that or will it show?
    Any advice will be great as iv got alot of alloy welding to do and customers are not happy when i turn the jobs down.

Regards
    Steve

Re: new to welding aluminum with spool gun

Hello and welcome.

Alum needs to be welded hot and fast. Expect to travel 2 to 3 times faster than when you do steel. To do .062 alum, you are on the bottom edge of what you can typically do with a spoolgun, so blow thru isn't unexpected when starting out. Setting on the door are probably close. For mig alum you need to use more voltage and a faster wire speed than you do with steel, as well as going faster in your travel speed.