My DIY Tig Cooler & DialArc HF Overhaul
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

My DIY Tig Cooler & DialArc HF Overhaul

This is my first attempt at posting pictures. I'll try again if I fail.
    Some other pictures will follow (but not tonight)

Here are some photos of a Miller Dialarc HF welder that we've restored (father-son project), plus a DIY cooler that I recently built for it. (I know that the Miller Logo isn't technically correct on the welder, but a friend made it for me, so I've got to use it).

I wasn't happy with the idea of putting the cooler on top of the welder, so we built a frame/stand to put underneath the welder to hold it. The welder had to be re-painted because a leaking cooler had been placed there and the whole top half of the welder was rust when we got it. The stand under the welder easily holds the cooler, with space remaining to store the foot pedal and TIG supplies. It all looks top heavy, but is surprisingly stable. It won't be seeing the outdoors much anyway. Thankyou duaneb55 for the filler rod storage idea. It seems to be working perfectly, although there isn't very much in them yet. The only uncompleted plans that I have remaining in this restoration are to add some cable hangers to the right side and then to paint the stand, probably black. GTAW is new to us, so this project is the low budget classroom for both of us to get started.

The Cooler -