Bed (sleep, not truck) footboard
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bed (sleep, not truck) footboard

Building a bed frame, here's some pics. this is the foot board, the head board will be in similar design, but just taller.

square tubes are 2x2x3/16
    round tubes are 1.5x1/16
    gussets are made out of 1/8" plate (thx ZTFab for the shearing)

the reason the center platform is lower is because a 2x2 tube will go there, the outside platforms are higher is because angle irons will go there.

this is my first project involving round tubing, but i have messed around with round tubing before. due to the design and size of this thing, some of the round tube welds are difficult to get to, so had to be welded in several phases... which messed with my mojo. I suppose i'm fairly consistent withing each 2 inch long weld, but i have some trouble when its broken up and have to weld it in different directions.

comments, concerns, critiques, and hints welcome.
    Attached Images Attached Images      

Re: Bed (sleep, not truck) footboard

Nice design!! Gonna be nice and strong. I assume you tigged it? One thing i would say is to dip more while tigging.
    Ya gotta spend money to make money!

Can't say a thing about the TIG welds, I'm doin' good to get a plain ol' rod to run right

The design is nice, very modern, and functional.

RE: metal beds........... be very careful that if, and I just say if, some of your nocturnal activities include electricity, DON'T GROUND YOURSELF
    "Any day above ground is a good day"

"Functional",,, Samm???? We need some D-rings before it's functional

The beauty of steel is, that somewhere in the future, if desired, a full overhead frame, and a good sturdy one, could be added to support a basket

ROTATIONAL, AND RECREATIONAL. The alliance of wicker and steel.

Perhaps Oxy's next thread????????

dip more rod... i'll have to experiment with that one. thx for the heads up.