Welding on crawler idler wheels
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Welding on crawler idler wheels

Looking for some advice. A friend of mine has a crawler with the idlers wore pretty bad on the outside so he keeps throwing track. He has asked me to fix the problem. There is room to build them up so was thinking of getting some AR-400 or some type of AR plate rolled to the correct dia. and welding with 7018. There would only be the one pass on the inside. The outside will take multiple passes. Do I need to worry about bearing shrinkage? Is there a better rod/material I could be using. I have'nt done much heavy equipment like I know some of you have. Thanks.

:help

I am new to this stuff ( my first post ) so if it's all messed up forgive my ignorance.
    Dutchman

Re: Welding on crawler idler wheels

Welding a separate piece of metal in won't hold up, you need to build up with rod or wire.

Use a good build-up rod or wire; Stoody, Postalloy, Rankin among others make this. 7018 will give less than acceptable results, it tends to mushroom out under pressure. You don't want to make it extremely hard, if you do you could accelerate the wear on the track links.

I'm not sure I understand the specific application, but I'd recommend a stronger electrode than 7018 if you're welding AR plate. 9018 or 10018 would be a better match for mechanicals. You should also look at preheat, depending on the thickness of the base metals involved.
    Mobile Welding at your worksite or place of business. Serving Dayton, Ohio and the surrounding metro areas.
    AWS Certified Welding Inspector (#XXX10731) and Certified Welding Educator (#XXX1008E)
    www.bensonmobilewelding.com