Carbide welding
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: Carbide welding

Carbide welding

I need to do some maintenance on my post hole auger. Can carbide cutters be welded with a MIG? If not, what process would be best?

Re: Carbide welding

Quote Originally Posted by 983-over View Post
    I need to do some maintenance on my post hole auger. Can carbide cutters be welded with a MIG? If not, what process would be best?
    I'm no expert on it, but usually carbide is brazed to steel when it comes to cutting edges. That's how we done all our cutters in the shop.

Quote Originally Posted by 7A749 View Post
    I'm no expert on it, but usually carbide is brazed to steel when it comes to cutting edges. That's how we done all our cutters in the shop.
    What type of brazing material do you use. Silver or brass base?

I seriously doubt that carbide is on the cutting surface..
    It would just chip and snap in no time on a arbor...

Use some Hardfacing Rod on it..
    They are black stick welding rods for excavator teeth and snowplow bottoms...
    Good stuff for heavy wear surfaces...

...zap!

I am not completely insane..
    Some parts are missing

Professional Driver on a closed course....
    Do not attempt.

Why do you doubt that carbide is used on an auger?
    Carbide is used on the tip of rotary hammer bits. Those take serious impact into rock and concrete. Auger tips don't get anywhere near this high impact abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by rlitman View Post
    Why do you doubt that carbide is used on an auger?
    Carbide is used on the tip of rotary hammer bits. Those take serious impact into rock and concrete. Auger tips don't get anywhere near this high impact abuse.
    Maybe so...

But in the Machine Shop world..
    You drop a carbide cutting bit on the floor and you kiss it goodbye!
    Carbide lathe tools do not like inturuptid cuts on anything...