Arc vs. Flux Wire Welder
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Arc vs. Flux Wire Welder

Which is better, Arc Welder or Flux Wire Welder? Not being used for any major welding. Anywhere from 3/16 to 1/4 inch.

Re: Arc vs. Flux Wire Welder

delete
    Last edited by 99trxrider; 01-03-2010 at 01:26 PM.

it will depend, What voltage is the wire welder? 110 or 220. that will make all the difference. If its a 110 than a 220 stick welder will be way better all around. if its a 220 volt wire welder than its a toss up. it wont be any cleaner than stick because of the flux on the wire. What is the amperage of the wire welder? I would prefer a stick welder but that is just me. What are you most comfortable with?

I'm new with all welding. Just trying to figure out what to start with. I wouldn't be welding a lot. I have a boat trailer that needs some welding done to it. I just want to learn to do some welding.

oops..didnt think the first post actually posted..Have you ever welded before? What needs to be welded on the trailer? Not trying to be a jack *** but generally if youve never welded before you dont want to begin on something thats going to be going down the road. I learned to weld with stick but most people i have talked to have told me they found wire welding easier to learn on than stick. 220 volt is def. the way to go though. There are a lot more people on here that could help you better than I could being as how im only 18. Im just putting down my thoughts.

On the money side you can buy a good 220v AC or even an AC/DC stick machine for usually way less than you can a similar powered 220v FC wire rig.

On the other side, it's usually easier for most to learn on a wire feed machine (mig or FC) than on stick, especially if they don't have someone to help them learn.