Fence Panel Size?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Fence Panel Size?

Hello, this is my first post. I have been viewing here for a few years.

My question is I am getting ready to build some ornamental fence panels with the pickets on 6'' centers. How do you guys figure your panel width? I was thinking of doing 8'. I have tried figuring 7', 8', & 9' panels and doing any of them I will end up having to do a smaller "filler" panel at the end. Is this how its always done? I have seen fences before with no filler panels, I guess these just happened to be the right amount of fence. Thanks for any input.

Re: Fence Panel Size?

should come out even
    8 ft would be 96 inches didvde by 6" would give 16 pickets
    idealarc 250/250 ac-dc tig
    idealarc 250/250 ac-dc tig #2 used for stick
    lincoln sp100
    hh125
    dual arbor grinder polisher
    30 yrs of hand tools
    52 pitch blocks 6p-26p
    rake gauge -pitch gauge
    G&D prop repair
    918-207-6938
    Hulbert,okla 74441

Prop, Maybe you meant 16 6" spaces, or a 1/2 space on each end, but anyway, the pickets take up space too.

PFD402, Do you mean calculating the panel size for an entire run, so that there is no partial panel in the run?

Good Luck
    Last edited by denrep; 01-14-2010 at 08:09 PM.

Six inch centers won't meet most building codes. The four inch ball is a pretty common rule of thumb for the gaps between pickets. You shouldn't be able to pass it through the fence.

When I did my fence, I did 8' panels. On the front side, I had one 7' panel, which I was able to put in the center (since my total panel count was odd on that side). You'd never notice it was shorter than the other four. If I'd put it on one end, I don't think that would be the case.

If you can't space all the pickets uniformly, make the odd gaps on both ends of a side. Make them the same width on both ends.