Alaska shutdown jobs?????????
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Alaska shutdown jobs?????????

I'm a out of work Boilermaker and I overheard there was a 6 month shutdown at a Alaskan refinery starting within the next two months. What was hard to believe is that it paid $64 an hour and work was 7 12s. Work 4 weeks and fly home for 7 days. Is there really this kind of shutdown work out there? Or should I say up there. Or is this crap.

Thanks
    Vinny

Re: Alaska shutdown jobs?????????

I was woundering if you could get me some info on that job. I think it sounds great.
    Thanks, Miller

Well I was just wondering if this sounded legit. I can't find any info myself.

As a Canadian welder I would say that its not as good as it sounds. I have buddies in the boilermakers, and pipefitters unions and they make that kind of money. Up here the unions pay very well. The catch is that these are camp jobs, not so bad cause they go in for 2 weeks or so and then out a week. But you earn that money by working 14 hr days. So they dont start making that until its double time. Which is around 80 bucks an hour. But its very hard to get in with the union as there are I think 3000 member or so out of the pipefitters hall. All that being said, it may be possible to get that rate but you better know how to burn a rod. Some of the welders that work at these places are pretty amazing at what they do. I only know the codes and standards that we work from, but they are very strict for the oil and gas industry.

Please excuse my ignorance. I'm a hobbyist but keep seeing people ask about shutdowns. What is a shutdown? Is it a plant or company that is closing? Just curious.
    Mike Accardi
    Henderson, NV
    maccardi@michaelaccardi.com

Miller 250X
    Lincoln Weldpack HD
    Miller Syncrowave 180 SD