Best ways / tools to weld thin sheet metal
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Best ways / tools to weld thin sheet metal

Hello folks, complete newbie here.
    I would like to buy a welder that is capable of welding thin sheet metal (motorcycle fenders, tanks, etc).
    Problem is that I don't know what type of welder would be best for the job and I am on a very tight budget.

I found this cheap no-gas welder.
    It only costs 100 British pounds (about 175 US dollars).

Is a gasless welder any good for welding thin sheet metal?
    Or should I start looking for another type of welder that is more suitable for thin sheet metal?
    I really need recommendations for a cheap-o-welder, guys.

One last thing that I believe is important to note here: I live in Europe.
    Over here we use 220V instead of 110V, so I guess most USA brands will not be OK for use in my country.
    Not to mention that it is very expensive to import goods from the USA - the VAT will literally kill me.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

_
    Last edited by KidWeld; 02-17-2010 at 12:21 AM.

Re: Best ways / tools to weld thin sheet metal

I would consider a small oxy-acetylene torch. Uses no electric power, cuts, bends, welds, brazes, solders. Yeah.

The small fluxcore machines are price-point items that pose some, how shall I say, challenges in adaptability.

Welcome to the weld shop.
    City of L.A. Structural; Manual & Semi-Automatic;
    "Surely there is a mine for silver, and a place where gold is refined. Iron is taken from the earth, and copper is smelted from ore."
    Job 28:1,2

Lincoln, Miller, Victor & NKJV Bible

Danny