Welding I beams
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: Welding I beams

Welding I beams

I might be building a boat house out of I beams and I was wondering what I should use to weld it. I was thinking about using my buddys dynasty 300 and arc welding it. How dose this sound im pretty new to welding and Ive never done structural welding. Dose that sound like a good idea

Re: Welding I beams

Are you require to have building permit for this? Engineering? Being that your new you are better off paying someone else to due the work. Get ready to duck I'm sure people will be fire answer back at you.

My buddy with the dynasty is an engineer. I also have another buddy that used to weld at a attachment shop and welded a few things for NASA.

Out in the wind, stick or flux-core are probably your choices. My choice would be stick only since I haven't done any flux core, but I've done plenty of stick and I'm confident I could do a good job. Looks like your choice is going to be stick also since the dynasty is a CC machine.
    "New to welding" and structural work can be a recipe for disaster. Do LOTS of practice before you lay your first weld on the project. Stress test your practice welds. When you get good at doing practice welds in the shop, start doing welds using the same material you'll be building with. Do these in the positions they will be on the real project. Do these while standing on a step ladder, etc, etc. When you get good at this then consider starting the project. You might also want to start with a project that isn't going to fall on your head when things go wrong. Then you can improve your skills and move to bigger projects. Some people are natural welders and some people will never get it. I don't know how you are, but it'll be better to find out before a big project than after.
    Last edited by AndyA; 04-09-2010 at 04:55 PM.

Dynasty200DX w/coolmate1
    MM210
    MM Vintage
    Lincoln AC225
    Victor O/A, Smith AW1A