4140?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: 4140?

4140?

Hi guys,

I built an excavator bucket this winter. Haven't used it yet but i did notice a crack in a joint.

Here is the deal. There is a round pin, diam. about 3", welded into a hole in 1" mild steel. The pin is 4140 tool steel.

Anyway, the machinist who made the pin for me told me to preheat the pin before welding. He was concerned with cracking.

I used .045 solid migwire, preheated the pin and mild steel. The weld went well.

After i was done, i post-heated the weld area to red hot and let it cool slowly in air.

During paint prep some time later, i noticed a crack in the weld area.

What can i do? How do i prevent it from cracking?

Re: 4140?

Hey, I'm no expert but I remember somewhere about having to post heat above ~500degF but you have to hold it there to prevent hydrogen embrittlement - it takes a while. I'm sure there are tables out there somewhere in some metallurgical books that'd tell you. I believe it's introduced by either using the wrong rod or wet/contaminated rod.

I'm sure somebody else with more experience will chime in but those are a couple things you might research a little.
    Millermatic 135
    Syncrowave 250

Excuse me for nit-picking, but 4140 isn't a tool steel in the technical sense of the term. It's a chrom-moly alloy.

But that's a side matter, what most likely happened is that your weld cooled too rapidly in the air. Thermal contraction stresses and/or formation of a hard phase called martensite caused your weld to crack.

Your post says your machinist warned you to pre-heat the weld. Did you? What temperature did you pre-heat it to? Post heating the weld to red hot and air cooling probably didn't help, and likely made the problem worse, not better.