welding expanded metal to 3/16" angle iron
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

welding expanded metal to 3/16" angle iron

Any advice on welding 3/4"X9 expanded metal to 1.5X1.5X3/16"thick angle iron? I'm still learning how to mig weld and have never had to weld such different materials together yet.

Re: welding expanded metal to 3/16" angle iron

Start your weld on the 3/16" angle and move it on to the exp. metal. As soon as it fuses with the exp. metal quit welding right then.

south GA where its hot in summer and cold in winter

Old timer is right.

Make sure it is clamped close and tight to the angle though. To make perfect "spot" welds, try a couple of test areas first and gauge the time to make the spot weld by counting....onethousandone, onethousand two....until the weld is perfectly spotted and filled.

If you are consistent with your welding technique you should be able to make tidy and neat looking spot welds with this method, with very little deviation. I would avoid trying to make long "seam" welds along the entire length of the expanded metal, and would favor the spot weld method.
    Welders:
    Esab Migmaster 250
    Penncraft 230 (oldy but goody)
    HF Plasma 30 (Italian)
    Lincoln Ranger 8
    Smith Oxy/Acetylene/Propane
    Lincoln SA200
    Everlast Power Tig 250 EX
    Everlast PowerUltra 205

When I was recently welding expanded metal to angle iron with my stick welder I did just as oldtimer said. Start on the angle iron and once you get your pool then pull it up onto the expanded metal and then stop real quick. After a couple practice spots you should have it no problem. I am an ehhhhh welder at best, so if I can do it i am sure you can!

The same basic technique applies to thin guage sheet to heavier plate.

Thanks for the help, just a kid trying to learn how to stick and mig. Remember measure once, cut twice.

Quote Originally Posted by andystamey View Post
    Remember measure once, cut twice.